Skip to content ↓

City of Peterborough Academy Special School


The planned curriculum will be holistic and inclusive, meeting the needs of the whole child with respect to their physical, emotional, cognitive and spiritual development. We aim to provide a specialised National Curriculum for pupils with autism.

The Primary curriculum will follow a traditional model with KS2 SATs being an indicator of progress providing a benchmark with peers in mainstream and special schools.

The Early Years Foundation Stage booklet 

The Primary Phase Curriculum – Parent Information

KS1 & KS2 Curriculum Overviews 2017-2018

Secondary Pathways:


Pathways and Progression in English

Pathways and Progression in Maths

Pathways and Progression in Science

Assessment without levels

From September 2014, the Government made a huge change in the way that children in schools are to be assessed. This tied in with the New National Curriculum that started to be used by all schools at the beginning of this Academic Year. This is a new way of thinking for schools, and assessment will look very different to what some of you will be familiar with in the past.
New National Curriculum 2014
It would take far too long to cover the whole curriculum, particularly in any great depth. But the main changes to the key core subjects are highlighted below.
English – The new programme of study for English is knowledge-based; this means its focus is on knowing facts rather than developing skills and understanding. It is also characterised by an increased emphasis on the technical aspects of language and less emphasis on the creative aspects. English is set out year by year in Key Stage 1 and two-yearly in Key Stage 2. Appendices give specific content to be covered in the areas of spelling and vocabulary, grammar and punctuation. These are set out yearly across both key stages.

Mathematics – The main areas in the new programme of study for mathematics are called domains. These are number, measurement, geometry, statistics, ratio and proportion and algebra. Two of these, number and geometry, are further divided into subdomains. The way that the curriculum is organised varies across the primary age range – every year group has a unique combination of domains and subdomains. There is no longer a separate strand of objectives related to using and applying mathematics. Instead, there are problem-solving objectives within the other areas of study. Most of the changes to the mathematics curriculum involve content being brought down to earlier years.
The End of Curriculum Levels
The Department for Education (DfE) decided that the children who are currently in Years 2 and 6 will be the last pupils to be awarded a level in their end of Key Stage tests (Summer 2015).
So why are levels disappearing?
The DfE want to avoid what has been termed ‘The level Race’ where children have moved through the old National Curriculum levels quickly to achieve higher attainment. The old National Curriculum was sub-divided into levels, but these were not linked to their national curriculum year group. For example, a child in Year 4 could be a Level 3 or even a level 5. Children were achieving Level 5 and 6 at the end of Key Stage 2, but the DfE thought that a significant number were able to achieve a Level 5 or 6 in a test—but were not secure at that level. The feeling from the DfE was that the old national curriculum and the levels system failed to adequately ensure that children had a breadth and depth of knowledge at each national curriculum level.

Assessing Without Levels
The DfE announced last year that there would no longer be National Curriculum levels and that schools would have to set up their own way of assessing pupils. We have spent a long time researching various different methods of assessing pupils, and for the pupils in Years 1 to 9, opted for the Rising Stars Framework

Pupils’ overall scores move through 6 ‘steps’ for each stage of work. The steps are termed:
Beginning (Beg)
Beginning plus (Beg+)
Developing (Dev)
Developing plus (Dev+)
Secure (Sec)
Exceeding (Exc)

For core subjects this is 6 steps each year. For foundation subject this is spread over 2 years. Secure is the equivalent of the Age Related Expectation.

Under the old levels system children who were exceeding might have moved into the next level. The DfE now want children who are in the exceeding bracket to add more depth and breadth to their knowledge, and to have more opportunities to develop their using and applying skills. They are calling this phase of learning Mastery and Depth. Only exceptional children will move into working towards the end of year expectations from the year above. Similarly, children who are unlikely to be emerging at the end of the year may work towards the expectations from the year below.

The biggest difference is how we will talk to you about how your child is progressing during the year. With the old National Curriculum levels, each year children were given a target for the end of the year, and during the year we would tell you what National Curriculum level your child was at. Whilst we refer to the stages described above we will be able to inform you exactly of curriculum coverage and what areas are to be achieved next in order to move up.